The Hite Site
Sax player A Saxophonist's
Study Guide

   by David Hite

... an outline of seven performance levels with goals and repertoire for each level
Study Guide:
Level 1

Study Guide:
Level 2

Study Guide:
Level 3

Study Guide:
Level 4

Study Guide:
Level 5

Study Guide:
Level 6

Study Guide:
Level 7

Music List

To order music

To Hite Site Homepage


This saxophonist's Study Guide outlines seven levels of study. It can be used to identify a student's level of accomplishment and provides a list of publications for study and performance at each level. Although not complete, these listings constitute a thorough course of study.

Individual progress will, of course, vary greatly, and some students may find it appropriate to work in materials from different levels simultaneously. For remedial work at more advanced levels, slower scales, interval studies and expressive melodic etudes are recommended.

It is important that students realize that careful, thoughtful daily practice is a primary requirement for effective progress. Inspired guidance from a good teacher and good ensemble experiences are vital contributing factors, but in the end the student must do the learning himself!

To print a complete copy of all levels of this Study Guide, see the Print Info page.

THE HITE SITE, designed and maintained by Jean Hite.    Comments to:
All contents copyright © 1997, David Hite, Inc.    All rights reserved.
Revised: March 5, 1997    URL: